Vibrations: Alt J and Lord Huron

In light of my week’s plan to attend a concert with both of these artists I thought it appropriate to highlight them for my Vibrations post. You know those bands that make you smile when you hear their music? These two do that for me. I can’t help but feel really fulfilled in life when I hear it.

Screen shot 2013-09-02 at 11.15.52 AM

When Alt J plays, the beats inherently make my shoulders and head start to move. Alt J’s blend of folk harmony – evoking Scarborough Fair (Interlude 1) – electronic pop and floating alternative rock is inventive, giving us an experience that makes us think a little bit more about what we’re actually hearing.

Screen shot 2013-09-02 at 11.45.09 AM

Screen shot 2013-09-02 at 11.46.53 AM

The British band’s name references the triangle that can be made when pressing the Alt key and the letter J on a Mac. They reference the shape in their song Tessellate, “Triangles are my favorite shape, three points where two lines meet.” I love their creativity and what they’re adding to the music world. Take a listen!

Next on the list: Ben Shneider – Lord Huron, – touring with Alt J, is a Michigan native living in L.A. He began his project during his travels back to Michigan in 2010 inspired by a stay on Lake Huron. His soft but full sound is alluring and I am very excited to see him live.

Screen shot 2013-09-02 at 1.19.20 PM

Here are some tracks I particularly enjoy!

I’ll give some feed back on the concert next week!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

